The Temple of Heaven and the Number 9 as a Symbol of Power  – The Feng Shui Focus Episode 12

The number 9 is the number of power in Feng Shui for very good reasons. It means active power in thoughts, emotions and actions.

Yin and Yang Have Numbers

The “yin and yang” symbol, is made up of two equal but opposite shapes/forces, one which represents the sunny side of the hill (yang) and the other one which represents the shady side of the hill (yin).

The sunny side of the hill (yang) is hotter, drier, and lighter. This is active power.

The shady side of the hill (yin) is colder, more humid, and darker. This is yielding power.

Yang active power is represented by the number 3 – indivisible. The triangle, the geometrical figure with three sides, cannot be deformed. It’s strong!

Yin, yielding power, is represented by the number 2, which is easily split down the middle.

Three Levels of Reality

There are 3 levels of reality (also known as three levels of existence) – Heaven, Humankind and Earth. These represent, respectively, the world of ideas, the world of emotions, and the world of physical action).

Heaven – Ideas

Humanking – Emotions

Earth – Actions

9 is the Number of Power

The number 9 is the number of maximum power, because it represents Yang active power (3) in all 3 Levels of Reality.

The number 9 means that you have strength in your ideas, your emotions and your actions. You get inspired ideas from Heaven, then you get motivated to action by strong emotions. That’s how you create Heaven on Earth!

I knew all this when I created the Nine Steps to Feng Shui® System. However, there was a detail I didn’t know at the time.

The Temple of Heaven

The Temple of Heaven in Beijing, China, was built with sets of 9 steps to connect the lower area with the Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests.

The emperor of China did a ritual, twice per year, to pray for good harvests in this site.

When I created the Nine Steps to Feng Shui System, I didn’t know that there were literally flights of stairs with 9 steps in a site of sacred ancient Chinese architecture!

Watch the video to learn more. Then scroll down.


In ancient Chinese culture, the number nine is the number of the Emperor, because it is the number that represents power.

The Emperor was considered the leader of the people, in the sense that he is responsible for the people, and he is accountable both to the people and to Heaven.

The Emperor ruled based on the Mandate of Heaven, which meant that Heaven was blessing his rule – as long as he took good care of the people.

This is an image of the Temple of Heaven in the Forbidden City in Beijing. This particular building is the Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests.

The Emperor came here twice a year to pray for good harvests, in a ceremony that involved nine steps and three stages.

The three stages represented the three levels of reality – Heaven, Earth, and Humankind – and the nine steps represented the Nine Principles of Natural Order.

The Feng Shui Focus – How You Fit, Function and Flourish in Your Space

With the Feng Shui Focus One Minute Videos, you will have a new understanding of life.

Reality Is Very Easy to Change

By using the power of the Nine Steps to Feng Shui® in the 3 levels of existence – ideas, emotions and actions – you can change your life very easily.

The Nine Steps to Feng Shui® gives you the keys to the reality “matrix” so you can change the code, and start living the life you were meant to live!

Everything You Believe to Be True About Life is Expressed in Your Home

You affect your home and your home, in turn, has an effect on you. You establish a feedback loop with your place.

The feedback loop may be positive or negative, but it’s never neutral.

Feng Shui – applied the right way – gives you control over what your home tells you, and whether your home is your supportive partner or a constant drain.

Let the home take care of you by applying the Nine Steps to Feng Shui® System with Moni.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.